Rub a dub dub 3 ducks in a tub

It was suggested I try to put a duckling on a canvas panel, so I gave it a try this weekend. I wanted to make a birthday present for a biking friend and I finally came up with a good idea.

First I used some bike parts and spray ink to create a background. I practiced on paper first to make sure everything would go they way I had planned. I usually have a vision in my mind of what something should look like but unfortunately I rarely end up with that in the end.

After testing out the inks I discovered the purple spray bottle was horrible and blobby so I poured the liquid into one of my water spritzers and it worked a little  better, but still a little strong. I was hoping for a nice fine mist of color.

20160117_130618-1

I found the bike parts in the garage and some felt hearts in one of my boxes of “supplies”.

20160117_130630-1

I tried to keep the background light so the ducks would be more visible. Here is what I ended up with….not sure I am super happy with it. The marker didn’t work like I wanted and I had to go over it a few times so it doesn’t have that spontaneous fun line that you get when using your wrong hand.  The canvas is 18 inches by 6 inches.

20160117_125149-1 (1)

 

One thought on “Rub a dub dub 3 ducks in a tub

Leave a Reply

