GIMP

I’ve been wanting to learn how to improve my scanned images and I’ve finally taken the time to start watching the tutorial. (Only after wasting hours trying to figure it out on my own.)

I really don’t want to spend hundreds of dollars for Adobe software so I downloaded GIMP, but didn’t really know how to use it besides a few simple functions. Mostly I use Picasa to do all my photo editing and even then, I just crop or lighten, nothing too fancy. I needed something with a little a more flexibility.

What is GIMP? Here is a blurb from their website “GIMP is a cross-platform image editor available for GNU/Linux, OS X, Windows and more operating systems. It is free software, you can change its source code and distribute your changes. ” It is similar to Adobe Photoshop.

I’ve been working my way through a Lynda tutorial the last few days. So helpful! The purpose behind all this is to be able to scan in my artwork and then clean it up so I can create prints to post in my Etsy shop.

I now know how to remove the bumpy watercolor paper from the background!

Below is an example. The darker image is directly from my scanner and if you look closely you can see the bumps in the watercolor paper, this won’t look so great if you want to make this into a print. I’ve already made a few prints that had a paper texterure in the background.

20150907_191414-1

Scanned image

I’ve only made it about a third of the way through tutorial but I did learn to use the Color Select tool. This allowed me to select the cat (since it is all black) and then invert the selection (to select all of the ugly white and then simply hit the delete key!

cat outline

Used GIMP to remove the dark background.

I am not sure if there is anything else I should do to this cat, (I’ll learn more as I continue the tutorial) but it looks much nicer and would make a much better print.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

